Ethanol Plant

LINCOLN, Neb. – Nebraska Corn is pleased to see the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has decided not to lower the 2018 Renewable Volume Obligation (RVO) under the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS). Under the EPA’s final decision, refiners will be required to follow congressional intent and blend 15 billion gallons of corn-based ethanol into the fuel supply.

“This year’s corn crop is impressive, which is resulting in the largest carryover supply in three decades,” said Dan Wesely, president of the Nebraska Corn Growers Association. “Ethanol production has been vital in boosting corn markets and improving rural economies.”

Although the 2018 RVO for cellulosic ethanol was not set higher than the 2017 RVO, the final level is 50 million gallons higher than the EPA’s proposal in July.

“With 30 percent, or nearly 600 million bushels, of Nebraska’s corn going towards ethanol production, we’re well on our way to meet and exceed the 2018 RVO requirement,” said David Merrell, chairman of the Nebraska Corn Board. “Corn-based ethanol is a win for cleaner air, greater energy independence, corn farmers and rural economies. With EPA’s latest decision, we’re on track to do great things.”

Nebraska has 25 ethanol plants and ranks second in the U.S. in overall production. The state is well suited for ethanol with its corn production and its livestock industry’s demand for distillers grains, an ethanol byproduct.
The Nebraska Corn Board is funded through a producer checkoff investment of ½-cent-per-bushel checkoff on all corn marketed in the state and is managed by nine farmer directors. The mission of the Nebraska Corn Board is to promote the value of corn by creating opportunities.

The Nebraska Corn Growers Association (NeCGA) is a grassroots commodity organization that works to enhance the profitability of corn producers. NeCGA has more than 2,400 dues-paying members in Nebraska. NeCGA is affiliated with the National Corn Growers Association, which has more than 40,000 dues-paying members nationwide.

Related Articles

  • January 2023 Board Meeting

    Corn Board to MeetJanuary 9, 2023 LINCOLN, Neb. - The Nebraska Corn Board will hold its next meeting January 31 – February 1, 2023, at Nebraska Innovation Campus, 2021 Transformation Dr, Lincoln, Nebraska. The Nebraska [...]

  • Internship Extension Announcement December 2022

    Nebraska Corn Internship Application Deadline Extended December 6, 2022 LINCOLN, Neb. – Nebraska Corn has extended the deadline for the Market Development and Innovation & Stewardship Internship hosted at the Nebraska Corn office in [...]

  • David Bruntz Honored as Nebraska Corn Board Member

    December 5, 2022 LINCOLN, Neb. – David Bruntz, a farmer from Friend, Nebraska recently termed off the Nebraska Corn Board after serving from 2013 – 2022 and chose not to seek reappointment. He was [...]

  • Mexico GM Corn Ban Has Detrimental Effects – The Association Calls for Initiation of USMCA Enforcement Case

    December 2, 2022 LINCOLN, Neb. - The Nebraska Corn Board (NCB) and the Nebraska Corn Growers Association (NeCGA) are urging Mexico and the Biden Administration to reach an agreement by following the science of genetically [...]